Members Login | Help | Contact Us

SaleHoo

Forum Home > Starting out Importing > Importing from China - Taxes?

New to selling or importing? Ask questions here! Discuss the safety of payment methods, ways suppliers ship and any importing/customs issues that you have concerns about or have come across?

Importing from China - Taxes?


Importing from China - Taxes?

Post step7156 03/05/2006 15:53

:?: Hey Everybody,

I'm new to this importing business, so I'm running blind here.

DHgate.com has a great deal on 4G iPods, and I would like to purchase some. But I read there was some sort of import tax. Some of the people said if you buy in small quantities, you could get away without paying the tax. That sounds an aweful lot like doing something illegal. I certainly don't want to risk going to jail just to save a few bucks!

Could some one give me the straight poop on this issue?

I appreciate it,
Keith
step7156
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 29/04/2006 15:40
Location: US

Thanks

Post step7156 04/05/2006 17:52

:) Thanks,

I appreciate you taking the time to answer.

Yes, I suspected they were fakes when the copy said the serial numbers didn't match. I sent them an email asking about this and warranty information, but as of yet, I have received no reply.

I'm just checkin out things right now, trying to get my feet wet.

Thanks again,
Keith
step7156
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 29/04/2006 15:40
Location: US

Post Dowdy 19/05/2006 08:08

i dont mind fakes just as long as the customer knows whats he getting and doesn't false advertise
Dowdy
SaleHoo Senior Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 13/04/2006 05:13
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post salehoo 22/05/2006 23:42

Have a read of this. It may help you out if you are looking to import and deal with suppliers from China.

** Link Removed: Only Available to Registered Members**
SaleHoo Site Admin
http://www.salehoo.com
User avatar
salehoo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: 10/04/2006 23:37

Post Simon 06/06/2006 04:10

How come everybody talk about China's sources are the cheapest? Can anywhere else actually beat China?
I am Simon and I need your help ;) ty
User avatar
Simon
SaleHoo Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 05/06/2006 17:27
Location: US

Post bruhay 09/06/2006 20:39

diablo_audio wrote:First off, you do know that the 4 gb iPods offered on DHgate are fakes, right? They are advertised on there as such and I would strongly recommend not ever dealing with fakes/copies.

That being said, as far as your importing question goes you don't have much to worry about. I import from China regularly and the customs into the US is incredibly small. I paid $50 on a $10000 order as an example.


I have had about 30x4GB ipods delivered from DHgate and they all seem to come in the original box. The CD is copied but they all work with iTunes without any problems. Are they still fakes?
bruhay
SaleHoo Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2006 18:15
Location: GB

Ipod video 60g

Post tl-imports 28/06/2006 14:17

Hi there everyone :D ,

I'm really new to all this and i wanted to try out buying one of the ipod video 60g.

It's on DHgate.com. Could someone please tell me if this is genuine or not because all the others say they have different serial numbers but this says it doesnt.

If it is fake could you tell me where else i can get them from.

Thanks very much Theo
User avatar
tl-imports
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 28/06/2006 08:31
Location: GB

Re: Ipod video 60g

Post Guest 28/06/2006 22:26

tl-imports wrote:Hi there everyone :D ,

I'm really new to all this and i wanted to try out buying one of the ipod video 60g.

It's on DHgate.com. Could someone please tell me if this is genuine or not because all the others say they have different serial numbers but this says it doesnt.

If it is fake could you tell me where else i can get them from.

Thanks very much Theo


Hi,

I have dropshipped 2 of these 60GB ipods 2 months ago and my customers did not complain so I assume they are genuine. In fact they have both bought other bits and bobs from me including a PSP
Guest
 

Post tl-imports 29/06/2006 12:31

:D Hi

Thanks alot
User avatar
tl-imports
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 28/06/2006 08:31
Location: GB

Getting Past Customs

Post mx 07/07/2006 03:38

I just wanted to know if there would be any problem with importing small quantities of shoes from China, because I imported some Lacoste polos without a problem, and now a pair of Nikes, and customs is holding on to it. I just wanted to know if this is common and if there is any way that I can prevent this from happening. Thanks.
mx
 

Post tab10us 07/07/2006 17:09

customs seized 30 pair of nike shocks i imported so watch out for those.
Check out my ebay items here:

http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZxxchro ... cxxQQhtZ-1

Check it out!

Email me:
afdealz4u@yahoo.com
tab10us
Moderator
 
Posts: 249
Joined: 22/06/2006 14:49
Location: Texas, US

Post stryker 17/10/2006 01:50

Look for the most part if a named brand product comes from china 99.99% chance it is a replica and yes those ipods are replicas does that mean they are no good no in my opinion as long as u tellt he customer its a replica and that is y its 74 dollars cheaper then the 1s in the store there should be no problems. i woulld stick to the ones that dont have the applwe logo on it if thats the case apple can not do a dang thing stick to the no name electronics better for u.
stryker
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16/10/2006 05:34
Location: US

SHIPPING ADDRESS FROM SALEHOO

Post solo 19/12/2006 18:45

HELLO SALE HOO '
I AM FROM TRINIDAD IN THE CARIBBEAN AN I AM TRYING TO BUY SOME POLOS TO IMPORT .WHEN I TRY TO PUT IN THE SHIPPING ADDRESS FROM DH TO A BEIJING SHIPPER THE SITE IS NOT RECOGNISING IT .COULD YOU TELL ME HOW I CAN GET TO PUT IN THE BEIJING SHIPPING ADDRESS :cry:
solo
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14/12/2006 01:14
Location: TT

NFL Jerseys

Post sburgess 10/01/2007 19:26

Hi, I recently imorted NFL jerseys from China and have looked into all the clues of it possibly bein fake. So far I have not one clue that they could be fake and they look 100% authentic. I also asked my supplier for a licence agreement stating that they are affilated with reebok and are allowed to sell to third parties. The only problem is the licence agreement is in chinese. The translation costs are far to expensive to just find out if its a legit contract. I was wondering where or who can i contact for more infotmation about this with the cost at the min? Thanks

Steve
sburgess
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 06/10/2006 13:58
Location: CA