Members Login | Help | Contact Us

SaleHoo

Forum Home > Suppliers - Find Out About Them Here > www.discount-designer.com

Used a great supplier or potentially have one? Share thoughts and dealings with others and build an even stronger network!

www.discount-designer.com


www.discount-designer.com

Post bhops 22/05/2008 02:48

hi i'm new to salehoo and just wanted some info on a few things.

firstly is discount-designer.com any good and most importantly are the products authentic?

the pricing and selection looks good so i would be keen to know.

also i'm interested in handbags (not necessarily the genuine articles but even the 'inspired by' type designs).

does anyone know of good reliable sellers that will allow you to start smallish and build up?

the same with shoes, any good women's shoes sellers would be great, either USA based or china.

and lastly a good woman's apparell supplier. mainly dresses, coats etc.

again they can be 'inspired by' type designs rather than having to be gucci or prada, i would much rather have that than trying to pass off fakes as the real thing.

i know genuine denim is hard to find at a competitive price but if there is a place to get real branded women's jeans would be cool.

good stock shots from any supplier would be an essential for us as we are partly a web based company (but then who isn't these days?)

again i wouldn't mind dealing with either the USA or china as long as the supplier is solid and the items are of a good standard of quality.

phew! i think that's it.

help or advice in any (or all of these matters) would be greatly appreciated,

regards,

bryce.
bhops
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18/04/2008 04:05

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post gulfy13 24/05/2008 23:46

Their web site seems to be just a "sourcing" site.

If you are looking for "inspired" bags as you noted above, you might want to try:

** Link Removed: Only Available to Registered Members**

If you want authentic bags, you should use:

** Link Removed: Only Available to Registered Members**

Or you might want to try a pallet load from macy's which you can get from ** Link Removed: Only Available to Registered Members**
gulfy13
SaleHoo Master Member
 
Posts: 484
Joined: 12/06/2007 00:33
Location: US

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post bhops 26/05/2008 00:51

cheers for the tip.

i've checked out the recommended sites and they look good.

what do you mean by 'sourcing' site?
bhops
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18/04/2008 04:05

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post gulfy13 27/05/2008 18:02

Hi. A sourcing site is normally a site that contains many links that in turn take you to other sites that sell goods. Basically a sourcing site will have a list of sites that sell specific items that you might be searching for. Some sourcing site might require you to be a member and also some have free memberships,others paid memberships.
gulfy13
SaleHoo Master Member
 
Posts: 484
Joined: 12/06/2007 00:33
Location: US

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post bhops 28/05/2008 13:10

great!!

thanks for the tip.

so does that mean some sourcing sites like the one i mentioned are selling the authentic items though?
bhops
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18/04/2008 04:05

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post gerardr242 29/05/2008 13:07

Have you tried wms clothing
gerardr242
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13/05/2007 11:31
Location: IE

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post gerardr242 29/05/2008 13:08

sorry ** Link Removed: Only Available to Registered Members**
gerardr242
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13/05/2007 11:31
Location: IE

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post gulfy13 31/05/2008 04:02

bhops wrote:great!!

thanks for the tip.

so does that mean some sourcing sites like the one i mentioned are selling the authentic items though?


No, it does not mean that all of, or any of the listed sites are selling authentic items. You would need to look at each one and make a determination as to if the goods are authentic..Just be very careful as there are a ton of excellent fakes out there that the sites claim to be authentic...
gulfy13
SaleHoo Master Member
 
Posts: 484
Joined: 12/06/2007 00:33
Location: US

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post bayericlowe 31/05/2008 07:07

Also note that you can never sell inspired handbags on eBay and I mean that in honesty unless you want to face the wrath of VERO.

Sell them at flea markets or other areas that take in designer inspired goods as there is many, classifieds, ioffer, NZtrade and etsy.com or elsewhere. If you sell regular designer items or design inspired bags of any type you will have to be prepared to face things like VERO and that is always messy.
bayericlowe
SaleHoo Master Member
 
Posts: 420
Joined: 26/02/2007 01:14
Location: US

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post bhops 31/05/2008 12:44

thanks gerard242 for the wms tip.

i assume their quality and service is good?

and to bayericlowe what is wrong with 'inspired by'as long as it does not have any company logo etc on it.

don't dg eyewear do the same thing with dolce and gabbana?

i don't want to sell certain bags as fakes just that their design is inspired by a certain brand.

as long as i am not using that brands logos or stock shots i can't see the problem however that is not to say there won't be a problem.

don't high street stores do the same with knock off dresses and the like?

sorry if i sound confused i just want to get this write from the start.

thanks for any advice in advance.
bhops
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18/04/2008 04:05

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post JD35648 01/06/2008 17:26

Most designer inspired items i've seen are very good replicas. I would buy designer inspired and do.Why pay hundreds of dollars for designer goods that are only making a fashion or status statement. Some are such good quality only an expert could tell the difference side by side.
Designer inspired for a fraction of the cost, and only I know the difference, count me in... :D :D :D
JD35648
SaleHoo Senior Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 19/07/2007 03:40
Location: US

Re: www.discount-designer.com

Post bhops 04/06/2008 04:21

I've seen on a different thread that you can use a freight forwarder to buy items that are 'sold in the usa ony'.

does this work if i want to bid on items on liquidation.com?

there's heaps of stuff on there i like, but a lot of the time it's only to be sold within the usa.

and what kind of added cost does having a freight forwarder add on to an item?
bhops
New SaleHoo Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18/04/2008 04:05