Dropshipping Costs with eBay and PayPal Fees

Free Member
liron200
For starters I gotta say I'm pretty new at all of this, this past 3 weeks or so i have been selling some stuff on eBay and pretty much I've done well. I gotta mention that I did it through dropshipping method. Though after a few sales, I have seen that not only I'm not making any money I'm pretty much losing it :( because Paypal takes a cut and eBay takes a cut and i tried free shipping so it also takes a cut. well i guess i do not need help just needed to write it down, after all i gotta bitch about it to someone... can you guys show me a method or what i did wrong or anything because i really want this to work out.

thanks

Last edited by rachel_ramos on 13 Oct 14 02:20:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
Site Admin
fudjj
Hi Liron,

It's one of those pitfalls that a lot of newbies fall into, not getting the research right up front and getting burnt by costs such as eBay and PayPal. You really need to get all your costs worked out and then you will be in a better position to know if there is any margin in the products you are trying to sell by comparing your competition.

Bundling or package deals is a favourite topic of mine, especially for dropshipping. Getting a POD (Point Of Difference) is extremely difficult with dropshipping and package deals is one one you can get out in clean air.

So what you do is look for a product range, let's say jewellery. You find a nice necklace to list, so then the idea is to find products that compliment and accentuate that necklace, perhaps a matching bracelet or ear rings or even both, then you list them all as a package deal. The trick here is that you only make your margin on one item and the others are passed on at cost.

The idea being that it is going to be far cheaper to buy the set from you rather than buy the individual pieces from another supplier.