Don't buy Chico Necklaces from CloseoutDirect

Free Member
whitebear1020
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Mar 10
Karma: 
18 May 10 03:57:37 pm
I just had a really bad experience with this company.

I ordered 100 Chico's from them. The advertising says, that necklaces are 100% authentic, high quality with Chico's metal tags attached.

The box arrived with 56!!! pieces were broken, beads were missing, nine bags contained only half of a necklace. Only 37 necklaces had Chico's metal tags, some of the necklaces did not have any tags at all.
These necklaces were really badly glued together. When you take the necklace out of the bag, it is falling apart right way. I mentioned this to Joe and told him that will not except these again.

I called Joe at Closeout Direct and ask him to replace the bad necklaces.
I had to pay for return shipping. The replacement arrive yesterday. They sent me 58 new pieces. Out of 58 necklaces 14 have broken strands (they are separated from the necklaces), 1 necklace has broken beads.

I called Joe again, and here is the reply I received:
"There is no way these necklaces are broken and we wont honor any further claim. In fact your last box you sent back we suspect you broke the necklaces to get new styles. We hand inspected your replacement order by three people and we are confident this is a fraudulent claim. We will not be doing any further business and we consider this matter closed.
Sincerely Joe "

I have been in a business for 10 years and this is the first time I will have to dispute a charge.

Stay away from these necklaces. They look used and returned by customers, every necklace was repaired. It is very far from what is being advertised.

Site Admin
richelle_salehoo
Posts: 5224
Joined: 20 Oct 08
Karma: 
18 May 10 10:47:58 pm
So sorry to hear about your experience, whitebear1020.

I did see the site you mentioned when I did a search for another member (DShelby) but I did not include them in my post as I was not too comfortable about them.

The owner, Joe is actually a member here on SaleHoo - aka wholesalejoe and you'll find him often times in the forum but I haven't seen him lately though.

If you want to continue sourcing Chico jewelry, I suggest you visit Link hidden: Login to view - they are a verified supplier here on SaleHoo or go directly to Link hidden: Login to view

Cheers!

P.S. A profile photo would be nice:)


Richelle

Customer Support Manager
SaleHoo Group Limited
Sell more with your own professionally designed and search optimized e-commerce website. Check out Link hidden: Login to view now!
Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 12:05:02 am
This customer is the worse case of all of buyer fraud committed against our company. She bought 100 necklaces who were shipped by a parnter vendor who has 22,000 plus feedback on EBAY to start the story right and we have shipped 100 plus orders of the same lot to other shoppers no complaints.

She called us and told us the that over half of the necklaces were broken on arrival and they didnt leave in that condition but out of our duty to make a customer happy we accepted a return. When we got the return we could certainly see she had broken the necklaces she did not like out of the lot we shipped to get different styles.... So in due caution we triple checked the second shipment three seperate people all with great feedback each checked the package prior to replacement. So we ship the second batch and then the customer takes delivery and then claims another 14 are broken. Shame on us once but not a chance we are going to continue sending broken necklaces. (note the first batch was nice too and not broken) This is nothing but buyer fraud and the same buyer has shopped my vendors and pulled the same stunts over the last year as we have compared notes. Once we saw this pattern of shopping and disputes among our group we did ban the customer and refused further service. This is an accurate detailed analogy of what happened.
thanks joe

PS and now she is trying to keep the merchandise and chargeback too which is outright theft and I am sad it has come to this but we are very clear these items were not damaged and she simply broke the necklaces to get new styles she might like, We put a stop to her plan and now she is trying to defraud us as well... If your a vendor I wouldnt sell to her at all!


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...
Site Admin
richelle_salehoo
Posts: 5224
Joined: 20 Oct 08
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 12:29:25 am
@wholesalejoe: Its nice to actually hear your side of the story too! And it would be even nicer if both you and the buyer can come to a complete and satisfactory resolution of the issue at hand :)

All the best.


Richelle

Customer Support Manager
SaleHoo Group Limited
Sell more with your own professionally designed and search optimized e-commerce website. Check out Link hidden: Login to view now!
Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 12:32:01 am
I am offering a full refund if the customer will return the full amount which she hasnt. Once I get the necklaces back I will refund 100% and then refuse to sell to her. My offer is extended to solve this claim. Simply return all of the necklaces and we will refund 100% and please dont break them prior to returning as they were not shipped broken at all.. thanks JOE


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...
Free Member
whitebear1020
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Mar 10
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 03:47:40 pm
Joe,

Thank you for your reply.

First, I did not order any Chico's before. It is funny that the notes were similar from other buyers .... I know exactly why they were the same. You are selling junk. Necklaces are not only came in pieces, but also not Chico's. Your ad claims that every necklace has Chico's tag and it doesn't.

Secondly, I did not commit any fraud. You refused to replace the broken pieces for the second time. I shipped them back (and have a proof that you received them). I put a dispute on my card only for those pieces that were sent back.

Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 03:58:13 pm
I know its your first order. We replaced the ones that you broke with new styles from your original shiopment and there is no way the second shipment even had breakage. I think any prudent business person would send good material on a replacement order. Shme on me once but not twice
If they are junk why not send all 100 back for a a full refund. We sold a ton of these lots and your the first one to complain on the CHICO. its my position your breaking the necklaces for new styles that you like. This is not a pick and choose lot and I think its pretty crappy to do business the way you have. My offer stands send the full order back which is junk as you claim and I will refund 100% or did you sell some of the junk already?

thanks JOE


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...
Free Member
whitebear1020
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Mar 10
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 04:11:10 pm
1. I am seriously thinking about your offer. I should of send them all back to you right away as soon as I opened the box. I tried to be nice and work with you.

2. No, they are not selling (only three sold in 45 days even listed at $9.99).
I cannot spend any more money for return shipment plus have to think about all the listing fees.

Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
7 Jun 10 04:20:49 pm
Send the full order back and we will refund less the 3 necklaces thats more then a fair offer.
Send the remainder of the necklaces to us unbroken please and I will refund the full order upon return.

Send to
CLOSEOUTDIRECT INC

22115 NW IMBRIE STE 301

HILLSBORO OR 97124

Print a copy of this approval to send back and toss in your box with the balance of the necklaces that you havnt sold and they day they arrive I will post a message here for all to let you know your refunded. You mention you sold three necklaces for $9.99 each I will discount that from your refund as its only fair those sales go to me since I am absorbing the full refund I am sorry but I feel you deliberately broke these necklaces and I wont sell to you again. I just want the merchandise back in good condition. If it was junk why did you take time to post to EBAY you should have sent back day one. There was no claim of junk the day of delivery just a high rate of brokens which shocked us as they were certainly not broken when shipped. But we tried to work with you and allowed the return but then you tried a second time to say more brokens arrived int he replacement order and we had to put a stop to such behavior. I just want the full balance of the jewelry back and I will give you the full refund less the 3 you sold for 9.99 each and then we are good to go.... thanks JOE


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...
Site Admin
richelle_salehoo
Posts: 5224
Joined: 20 Oct 08
Karma: 
9 Jun 10 02:39:56 am
It great to read that you are able to communicate about a possible resolution.

Do keep us posted!


Richelle

Customer Support Manager
SaleHoo Group Limited
Sell more with your own professionally designed and search optimized e-commerce website. Check out Link hidden: Login to view now!
Free Member
whitebear1020
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Mar 10
Karma: 
9 Jun 10 12:29:00 pm
Richelle,

Thank you for your support!

Joe,

I am still thinking about your offer.
Since, I spent a lot of hours on photos and a lot of money on listings, I will give it another 30 days before I give up and send everything back to you.

Thank you.

Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
9 Jun 10 02:00:25 pm
Can you please call American Express and cancel the complaint please and reply back here that you have cancelled the complaint.

I am pleased to hear that your going to keep selling. They are decent items and we have other sellers doing well with the same lots.

PS please its important that you post back here you have cancelled the complaint with American Express since your keeping the merchandise. Please reply when you have made the call so I can call and file my reply and show our agreement..... thanks JOE


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...
Free Member
whitebear1020
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Mar 10
Karma: 
9 Jun 10 02:11:16 pm
I can't cancel, I returned the bad necklaces already.
This is the second return.

Here is the confirmation number 03092880000137753732.

It was received on May 24th.

I put a dispute only for those pieces that I sent back.

Full Member
wholesalejoe
Posts: 287
Joined: 11 Feb 07
Karma: 
9 Jun 10 02:21:30 pm
Ok I am calling American Express to show the story here. I will absorb the loss on the return of necklaces which were broken.
Hope you make good sales and I am closing this case as you stated
you were keeping the necklaces. I dont agree to the 30 day window for returns if your going to sell for 30 days then you own the lot. Thats simply business. Thanks Joe


Link hidden: Login to view
We add new stuff daily...

Wait! Want Some FREE Supplier Details?

Discover four of the most profitable niches on eBay and get details for the best suppliers for these niches. Enter your details below and we will send them instantly.

Thanks! Please check your email inbox.

Your list of profitable markets and supplier details are on their way to your email inbox.
Be sure to add support@salehoo.com to your safelist to ensure we can deliver the free suppliers details to you.

If you haven't received an email from us in 5 minutes, please check your spam folder or email us at support@salehoo.com.